two competitive karters

Karting Championship | Round Nine Race Report

Round 9 of the championship and a hugely encouraging entry of 30 drivers for this round including around 15 newcomers. So a split grid was deemed necessary so the drivers drew their group out of the hat in the interest of fairness. Plus all drivers had their first taste of the new fleet on karts which were barely a week old.

Group A was not the place to be as all the top12 barring 2 was drawn into this group. It did however make for some hugely entertaining racing. Qualifying went off and the new drivers discovered how competitive this championship is with all of struggling to get into the top 10. Has Khalid went fastest on a 73.341, Luke Winter went strongly on a 73.443 and Adam Blair running in 3rd.

Their first race set a positive tone with some great, clean racing on display. After several lead changers which included Luke winter having an awesome moment where he managed to take 3 karts in one corner. But ultimately Has took the lead and went on to win from Adam Blair in 2nd and Luke Winters efforts earning him 3rd place.

Race 2 and more the of the same in early laps between the mid field. The top 3 was slightly less exciting with a flag to flag win for Elia Evagora, Tom Kearney came in 2nd and Daryl Palmer 3rd with all drivers finishing in the places they started.

Group B featured only 4 regular drivers which meant some high points could be achieved. Anthony Ballanger took provisional pole on lap 1 and was never headed up. Zsolt took 2nd place and Glenn Waterman 3rd which helped him greatly as he elected to use his joker.

Race 1 and Anthony Ballanger battled with the pack and had a great race with race with Zsolt and Glenn but he emerged on top with a well-deserved win. Zsolt held onto 2nd and Glenn Waterman another 3rd place.

Race 2 was more the same with liberal but fair use of the bumper between the top 4. A good race with Anthony came 1st again to complete the first ever clean sweep in the championship. Zsolt came 2nd once again and Hugo Marques in 3rd.

Written by Championship Promoter : Stacy Lawday